Renewal (Tanaga)

Farewell, silent welling eyes
Withhold anguished heart-wrung cries
Wrest Pandora’s languished hope
Renew this sad heart to cope


The Tanaga is a Filipino poetic form. It consists of four lines with seven syllables each; the rhyme scheme is AABB. Traditionally, Tanagas don’t have titles and they are composed in the Tagalog language. These days, Tanagas are appearing more frequently in English, they are picking up titles and varying their rhyme forms (for example, AABB, ABAB, ABBA, AAAB, BAAA, ABCD, and so on). Morals, ethics, and proverbs may or may not be present.